From Homeless to Hopeful

William Andrews used to run political campaigns. He used to have money. He used to have…things. But his wealth, success, and multiple degrees couldn’t protect him from a life of drug addiction. He lost it all. Eventually, finding himself again while living in the Men’s Pavilion at the Coalition for the Homeless of Central Florida. Today, he’s a Pastor – leading a congregation at Orlando’s Heart of Mercy Community Church of the Nazarene. He’s also a Board Member at the Coalition.

We met Pastor Andrews at the groundbreaking of the new 33,000 square foot Men’s Service Center currently under construction at the Coalition for the Homeless of Central Florida.

“Never in my wildest dreams while lying on the floor over there at the pavilion did I think one day I would be standing here,” he said. “When I came to the coalition, there were these two men… case workers … and every day they got on my last nerve. Every day I stumbled through their gates addicted, but every day they kept telling me that I could make it. Every day they poured words of encouragement on me.”

Here is – in his own words – Pastor Andrews’ inspirational story of hope.

Leave a Reply

